• lead vocal and piano: Doug Koempel
  • acoustic guitar: Steve Logan
  • electric guitar: Jimmy Bryant
  • steel guitar: Buddy Emmons
  • bass: Bud Logan (Jim Reeve's original bass player and John Conlee's producer)
  • drums: D.J. Fontana (Elvis's original drummer)
  • strings: The Wire Choir (arranged by Kris Wilkinson)
  • background vocals: Sound Seventy Singers (including Janie Fricke)
  • recorded at: Music City Recorders / Nashville, TN
  • engineered by: Jack Logan

Doug's notes:

I know, I know! It's not professional to make excuses, but I wish I could redo my vocal on this recording! I mean everything else is so good on this track - from Buddy Emmons' stellar, steel guitar to Janie Fricke's "oooo's" and "ahhhh's" to Kris Wilkinson's amazing, string arrangement!

At 20-something I wasn't ready to sing a ballad. I was used to wailing Jerry Lee and Little Richard rockers in noisy clubs not crooning ballads in a world-class recording studio. In the mid-70s this small-town kid from Iowa suddenly found himself recording his first album surrounded by big-time musicians - I was definitely out of my element!

I'd been signed by a Nashville record label as one of a handful of new artists. Their hope was that some new blood would re-energize the struggling label.

Chart Records had at one time been a major player with artists such as Roy Clark and Lynn Anderson. But by the late '60s, early '70s the label was struggling as its major artists had left for larger labels. The new owner was from Iowa and had flown me to Nashville numerous times to record material for a couple of singles and a future album release.

By 1975 I'd already recorded three or four sessions at Music City Recorders and had a lot of material "in the can" awaiting the album release. So finally in 1980 after two singles "Rock On And On And On" (1977) and "Dream River" (1978), my first album, Sayin' Good-Bye, was ready to ship. Unfortunately by then Chart Records was pretty much defunct. Nonetheless the album was still released albeit on a short-lived label (Jaroco) which unfortunately lacked a nationwide distribution network - but that's a whole other story!

Nevertheless now 40 years later, I'd still like to get my hands on that master tape and redo my vocals on "Wasted Dreams"!!

browse the Song Vault archives.
Doug Koempel © 2016
SONG #46

(writer: Ace Long)
artist: Doug Koempel
album title: SAYIN' GOOD-BYE (1980)
label: JAROCO Records
publishing: Jaroco Music, BMI / Blue Baker Music BMI
play "Wasted Dreams"